Here a Ricardian connection, there a Ricardian connection

Countdown: 6 days to go to King Richard III’s reinterment. 

Yesterday, I went into London to go the Museum of London and then to see a dear friend who I haven’t seen since 2008 (a number of friends have either moved or returned to the British Isles since I’ve met them. Coincidence? I hope so.)

Ricardian badge Museum of LondonWhile at the Museum of London, which was teeming with children on school trips, I came across a boar badge worn by a supporter of King Richard III in the medieval galleries. I knew about the badge having seen it on my trip in 2008.

After conquering the Museum of London gift shop, which is one of the best for books and for general London delights, I decided to walk along the Strand and Fleet Street to Waterloo where I was meeting my friend. As I passed St. Paul’s Cathedral on the way south I remembered that the Millennium Bridge offers a lovely view of St. Paul’s from the Thames, so I walked to the middle of the bridge and took a couple of photographs and then walked back to the north bank.

018I looked to my left at one point and noticed that I was walking by the College of Arms. The College of Arms was founded by King Richard III in 1484. Unfortunately, the building the College in is recent, but I wasn’t going to pass up this moment of coincidence.

With a song in my heart and a skip in my step I set off for a wonderful evening with my dear friend. Life doesn’t get much better than that!

Here’s a Google Maps link to show you where I went.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Here a Ricardian connection, there a Ricardian connection

  1. Leslie says:

    Lovely to read this. I miss London. : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

