The Natives seem Friendly

Countdown: 8 days to go to King Richard III’s reinterment.  

I’ve totally ruined my sleeping cycle. Unfortunately, the night before I left I only got about three hours of sleep and only an hour on the trublent night flight plane and then I didn’t sleep when I arrived, so I was a mess.

Anyway, the wonderful news is that the Ricardian adventure has now officially started. The maternal unit and I landed in England yesterday. My last day in Canada was spent waiting for a second credit card — just in case — that never arrived and for a library book that also failed to appear. I should have ordered both earlier. Fortunately, my mother and I got a three-seat set on the flight to ourselves, so we could spread out and relax. The one item, so far, I have realised I forgot is my shower cap.

On Sunday, March 15, King Richard III’s remains were coffined in the presence of John Ashdown-Hill and other notables. It’s good to see that Ashdown-Hill has finally got a special nod. Without him…

Today, my mother and I will go to Hampton Court Palace. Alas, it has no Ricardian connection as it was built in 1514 by Cardinal Wolsey, and acquired, shall we charitably say, by Henry VIII a few years later when Wolsey’s fortunes began to wane. Hampton Court was a royal residence for a number of centuries. Today, it’s also home of the Royal School of Needlework. (In addition to the Richard III Society, I belong to the Toronto Guild of Stitchery, so a visit to the Shop of said establishment will be absolutely necessary.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Natives seem Friendly

  1. Tracy Bryce says:

    Alas, Hampton Court Palace did not make it onto our London itinerary. Hoping to hear all about it in April! Have fun, and see you next week in Leicester!

    Like

  2. Nicole M says:

    I’m looking forward to hearing about your visit to the Royal School of Needlework. Hope you bring some photo’s back with you!

    Like

    • torontopubs says:

      Thanks for your comment! Unfortunately the Royal School of Needlework shop was tiny, about the size of the cloak room at Blythwood. However, the mother and I both got some new projects and I look forward to bragging about them at the next meeting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

